LL.M @ Tamil Nadu National Law School, Tiruchirapalli: Admission via CLAT; Opening Soon


The Tamil Nadu National Law School (TNNLS) established in 2012, is a welcome addition to India’s National Law Universities. Along with imparting legal education as per the Bar Council of India (BCI) prescribed law courses there is convergence between Humanities, Social Sciences, Management Studies and the Law in both developing and executing the curriculum in the degree courses. The School is introducing the Post-Graduate Programmes of LL.M and Ph.D. from the academic session in 2018.

PG Programme Summary (Admission only through CLAT)

The Tamil Nadu National Law School (TNNLS) one-year LL.M. is a regular, full time intensive programme on semester pattern comprises of three streams i.e. LL.M. (Corporate and Securities Laws), LL.M. (Intellectual Property Laws) and LL.M. (Natural Resources Law).

It shall spread over one academic year of 36 weeks duration consisting of two semesters of 18 weeks each. As per UGC regulation, the one-year LL.M. programme shall have three mandatory courses, four specialization courses, two elective courses and a dissertation. Thus, a candidate admitted to the one-year programme shall complete an overall nine courses and a dissertation for the award of the degree.

LL.M Specialisations*

LL.M. (Corporate and Securities Laws):

  1. Corporate Finance Law
  2. Law of Securities and Derivatives Contracts
  3. Corporate Governance
  4. Corporate Restructuring (Mergers, Acquisition etc.)
  5. Corporate Insolvency and Bankruptcy Law including Revival of Sick Companies
  6. Corporate Taxation Law (Direct Taxation)
  7. Law and Practice of Shareholder’s Agreements
  8. Corporate Compliance, Investigation of Corporate Matters and Adjudicatory Mechanism

LL.M. (Intellectual Property Laws):

Join Lawctopus Law School, the law school you always wanted, online! Check courses.lawctopus.com

  1. General Principles of Intellectual Property Laws
  2. Law and Practice of Patents
  3. Pharma Patents and Access to Medicines
  4. International IP Law and Policy
  5. Intellectual Property Rights and Litigation
  6. Copyrights and Access to Knowledge
  7. Law of Plant Varieties and Farmer’s Rights
  8. Law of Trademarks and Geographical Indications
  9. Intellectual Property and Competition Law

LL.M. (Natural Resources Law)

  1. Rights relating to Natural Resources
  2. Property Rights over Land
  3. Law relating to Water
  4. Legal Regulation of Forests and Wildlife
  5. Mines and Mineral Laws
  6. Energy Law and Regulation
  7. Bio-Diversity and Biological Resources
Admission Procedure

Admission to this programme is based purely on merit through the Common Law Admission Test CLAT conducted by the National Law Schools.

Admissions will commence, upon the publication of the merit list.


3/5 years B.L. or LL.B. or B.L. (Hons.) or LL.B. (Hons.) or its equivalent with not less than 50% marks in aggregate.

Must have written CLAT for the purposes of Post Graduation.

Students Intake

The intake for the academic year 2018-19 including all the three streams of one-year LL.M. programme shall be 18. The University reserves the right to fix the minimum number of students required for each specialization every academic year

*The actual number of courses offered will depend on the decision of TNNLS.

For details, visit this page


Disclaimer: We try to ensure that the information we post on Lawctopus is accurate. However, despite our best efforts, some of the content may contain errors. You can trust us, but please conduct your own checks too.

Get Lawctopus in Your Email.

Join 58,000+ young lawyers!

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.