Supreme Court & High Court Legal GK for Judiciary (Part I)


Hey, aspirants! Welcome to Lawctopus’ Judiciary Corner.

In this article, we will talk about the Supreme Court and the High Courts in India. It contains the following information:

  1. Facts about the Supreme Court and the High Courts in India
  2. Appointment & Removal of the Supreme Court and the High Court judges
  3. No. of the Supreme Court Judges present 
  4. The Chief Justices of High Courts

Let’s start!

Supreme Court
  1. The Supreme Court was inaugurated on January 28, 1950.
  2. The institution of High Courts originated in India in 1862 after the establishment of the Calcutta, Madras, and Bombay High Courts.
  3. Presently, India has 25 High Courts.
  4. Calcutta High Court is the first High Court in India.
  5. Articles 124- 147 Part V of the Constitution deals with the organization, independence, jurisdiction, powers, and procedure of the Supreme Court.
  6. Justice Sudhanshu Dhulia (Chief Justice of Gauhati High Court) and Justice Jamshed Burjor Pardiwala, judge (Gujarat High Court), have been elevated to the Supreme Court in 2022.
  7. Both the Supreme Court and the High Courts have the power to issue Writs.
  8. Justice Harilal Jekisundas Kania was the first Chief Justice of India.
  9. Justice Veeraswami Ramaswami was the first judge of the Supreme Court of India against whom impeachment proceedings were initiated.
  10. Telangana and Andhra Pradesh High Courts are the newest courts, established in the year 2019.

Appointment & Removal of the Supreme Court and High Court judges

Supreme Court

Appointment of judges happens through the Collegium system. The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court in consultation with four senior judges recommends the names of the judges who will get elevated to the Supreme Court. After that, the Union Minister of Law, Justice, and Company Affairs will put up the recommendations to the Prime Minister who will advise the President on the matter of appointment.

High Courts

President via Article 217 (1) of the Constitution appoints judges in the High Courts, and the Chief justice of the concerned High Court is also consulted. The President appoints the Chief Justice in High Courts after consulting the Chief Justice of India and the Governor of the state concerned. 

Removal of Judges

President can remove both, the Supreme Court and the High Court judges. The President can issue the removal order only after an address by the Parliament has been presented to him in the same session for such removal. The address should have support from majority of each House of Parliament, not less than 2/3 of members of the House present and voting.

List of Supreme Court Judges (As on May 2022)

S.NoName of Hon’ble JudgesDate of Retirement
1Hon’ble the Chief Justice of India N.V. Ramana26-08-2022
2Hon’ble Mr. Justice Uday Umesh Lalit08-11-2022
3Hon’ble Mr. Justice A.M. Khanwilkar29-07-2022
4Hon’ble Dr. Justice D.Y. Chandrachud10-11-2024
5Hon’ble Mr. Justice L. Nageswara Rao07-06-2022
6Hon’ble Mr. Justice Sanjay Kishan Kaul25-12-2023
7Hon’ble Mr. Justice S. Abdul Nazeer04-01-2023
8Hon’ble Ms. Justice Indira Banerjee23-09-2022
9Hon’ble Mr. Justice K.M. Joseph16.06.2023
10Hon’ble Mr. Justice Hemant Gupta16.10.2022
11Hon’ble Mr. Justice Mukeshkumar Rasikbhai15-05-2023
12Hon’ble Mr. Justice Ajay Rastogi17-06-2023
13Hon’ble Mr. Justice Dinesh Maheshwari14-05-2023
14Hon’ble Mr. Justice Sanjiv Khanna13-05-2025
15Hon’ble Mr. Justice Bhushan Ramkrishna Gavai23-11-2025
16Hon’ble Mr. Justice Surya Kant09-02-2027
17Hon’ble Mr. Justice Aniruddha Bose10-04-2024
18Hon’ble Mr. Justice Ajjikuttira Somaiah Bopanna19-05-2024
19Hon’ble Mr. Justice Krishna Murari08-07-2023
20Hon’ble Mr. Justice S. Ravindra Bhat20-10-2023
21Hon’ble Mr. Justice V. Ramasubramanian29-06-2023
22Hon’ble Mr. Justice Hrishikesh Roy31-01-2025
23Hon’ble Mr. Justice Abhay.S. Oka 24-05-2025
24Hon’ble Mr. Justice Vikram Nath23-09-2027
25Hon’ble Mr. Justice J.K. Maheshwari 28-06-2026
26Hon’ble Ms. Justice Hima Kohli 01-09-2024
27Hon’ble Mrs. Justice B.V. Nagarathna 29-10-2027
28Hon’ble Mr. Justice C.T. Ravikumar05-01-2025
29Hon’ble Mr. Justice M.M. Sundresh20-07-2027
30Hon’ble Ms. Justice Bela M. Trivedi 09-06-2025
31Hon’ble Mr. Justice Pamidighantam Sri Narasimha02-05-2028
32Hon’ble Mr. Justice Sudhanshu Dhulia09-08-2025
33Hon’ble Mr. Justice J.B. Pardiwala11-08-2030

List of Chief Justices of High Courts (As on May 2022)

S.NoName of Hon’ble Chief JudgesHigh Courts
1Hon’ble Mr. Justice Rajesh BindalAllahabad High Court
2Hon’ble Mr. Justice Prashant Kumar MishraAndhra Pradesh High Court
3Hon’ble Mr. Justice Dipankar DattaBombay High Court
4Hon’ble Mr. Justice Prakash ShrivastavaCalcutta High Court
5Hon’ble Mr. Justice Arup Kumar GoswamiChhattisgarh High Court
6Hon’ble Mr. Justice Vipin Sanghi (Acting Chief Justice)Delhi High Court
7Hon’ble Mr. Justice N. Kotiswar Singh (Acting Chief Justice)Gauhati High Court
8Hon’ble Mr. Justice Aravind KumarGujarat High Court
9Hon’ble Ms. Justice Sabina (Acting Chief JusticeHimachal High Court
10Hon’ble Ms. Justice Gita MittalJammu & Kashmir High Court
11Hon’ble Mr. Justice Dr. Ravi RanjanJharkhand High Court
12Hon’ble Mr. Justice Ritu Raj AwasthiKarnataka High Court
13Hon’ble Mr. Justice S. ManikumarKerala High Court
14Hon’ble Mr. Justice Ravi MalimathMadhya Pradesh High Court
15Hon’ble Mr. Justice Munishwar Nath BhandariMadras High Court
16Hon’ble Mr. Justice P V Sanjay KumarManipur High Court
17Hon’ble Mr Justice Sanjib BanerjeeMeghalaya High Court
18Hon’ble Dr. Justice S. MuralidharOrrisa High Court
19Hon’ble Mr. Justice Sanjay KarolPatna High Court
20Hon’ble Mr. Justice Ravi Shanker JhaPunjab and Haryana High Court
21Hon’ble Mr. Justice Manindra Mohan Shrivastava (Acting Chief Justice)Rajasthan High Court
22Hon’ble Mr. Justice Biswanath SomadderSikkim High Court
23Hon’ble Mr. Justice Satish Chandra SharmaTelangana High Court
24Hon’ble Mr. Justice Indrajit MahantyTripura High Court
25Hon’ble Mr. Justice Sanjaya Kumar Mishra (Acting Chief Justice)Uttarakhand High Court

Found this useful? Check out other articles from this series here.


Join Our Judiciary Corner WhatsApp Group

Get Daily Updates

Join Our Judiciary Corner Telegram Group

Get Daily Updates

Related Posts

Get an Internship

A Fail-proof 6 Step Method

💬 Comments

Your email address will not be published.


Lawctopus App

4.7/5 on Google Play



Download our
eBook on

An Internship

By providing your email, you consent to subscribe to our newsletter.​