Rhodes Scholarship 2016: Apply by August 15

Each year, there are five Rhodes Scholarships available for India to enable outstanding students – chosen on the basis of exceptional intellect, character, leadership, and commitment to service – to study at the University of Oxford.

The first Indian Rhodes Scholars took up residence in Oxford in 1947, and since that time nearly two hundred Indians have been awarded this prestigious scholarship.

Many have achieved notable distinction, including:

Montek Singh Ahluwalia (India & Magdalen 1964), prominent economic policy-maker. He is Deputy Chairman of the Planning Commission of India and has previously served as the first Director of the Independent Evaluation Office, International Monetary Fund (IMF).

Girish Karnad (India & Magdalen 1960), contemporary writer, playwright, actor and film director. He is a recipient of the Jnanpith Award, the highest literary honour conferred in India, for his contributions to Kannada literature and theatre.

Lavanya Rajamani (India & Hertford 1996), advisor and writer on international environmental law, in particular international climate change law and policy. She is  a professor at the Centre for Policy Research in New Delhi.

Mahesh Rangarajan (India & Balliol 1986), researcher, author and historian with a special interest in environmental history and colonial history of British India. He is also a political commentator and a psephologist.

Information about Rhodes Scholars elected in India and around the world can be found in biographies of the Rhodes class of 2014 and the Rhodes class of 2013.


Applications for the Rhodes Scholarships for 2016 for India are now open.  Apply here.  Applications will close on 15 August 2015.

​To see the press release about the Scholars-elect class of 2015, please click here.

Prospective applicants from India should carefully review:

1. the general information about the Rhodes Scholarships,

2. the selection criteria that apply in all Rhodes constituencies, and then

3. the application criteria specific to India (2016 India Memorandum).

Guidance for Referees for applications for 2016 entry is available here.

There are FAQs which are applicable to all applicants.

Email: viranderschauhan@gmail.com

For more information click here.

Disclaimer: We try to ensure that the information we post on Lawctopus is accurate. However, despite our best efforts, some of the content may contain errors. You can trust us, but please conduct your own checks too.

Get Lawctopus in Your Email.

Join 58,000+ young lawyers!


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.