Kirori Mal College Debate [Feb 13-16] 2015; Register by Jan 28

The Debating Society, Kirori Mal College cordially invites you to the 35th edition of its Annual English Parliamentary Debate, Frank Thakur Das Memorial Parliamentary Debate from 13th to 16th February, 2015 as part of its Annual Debating Festival – ‘The Gift of the Gab’.

Why FTD?

The Frank Thakur Das Memorial English Parliamentary Debate has the distinction of being one of India’s oldest inter-college debates of its kind. Over the years, this tournament has maintained a consistency with regards to the quality of the motions we present, which have always been framed by an internal adjudication pool.

This is, in itself, a unique and valuable characteristic, since an internal adjudication core raises the stakes for the members of the DebSoc. This is reflected, not only in the quality of the motions, as  mentioned above, but also in an efficient and accountable system of organisation.

In other words, you are guaranteed of a smooth tournament because we are directly liable for any issue you people may have.

Last year we gave prize money over a lakh to the top 8 adjudicators and to all teams reaching semi-finals, all IN CASH very soon after the tournament. We promise to do the same and more as we are constantly pushing our sponsors and will make sure that anybody who breaks doesn’t leave with empty pockets.

Tournament details:

The tournament will follow the standard 3-on3 Asians Parliamentary Debate format.

Each institution, for now, is allowed a maximum of 2 teams accompanied by at least 3 A-level adjudicators in accordance with the N+1 rule which shall be strictly followed to maintain a quality debating experience for the participants.

Institutions are also requested to put in requests for additional teams if required and we will provide confirmation subject to availability and A- level adjudicators provided.

Participation: Cross teams are allowed to participate provided all of the members in the cross team are currently enrolled in a university (participants pursuing Masters and Post-Bachelor courses are welcome).

Please note that the cross teams are requested to strictly follow the N=1 rule with respect to adjudicators.

How to register?

Click on the following link and fill out the necessary details in the form.

Please register your college contingent on these Google Doc links:

1) Institutional Team and Adjudicator Registrations:

2) Cross-Team Registrations:

For queries regarding registration and allocation of slots contact:

Gaurav Mehta (+91 8800704241)

Ritwik Shukla (+91 9717828884)

Outstation teams must confirm participation by 28th January, 2015.

Local teams must confirm participation by 4th February, 2015.

We shall shortly mail you the rulebook and other relevant details, and upload the same on our Facebook group .

All correspondence, queries, questions or doubts can be made via email or phone on the below-mentioned contacts.

SHAURYA OBEROI and RAKHI MUKHERJEE; +91 9958833387 and +91 9899274489

Information by Malobika Sen, Debate Content Manager.


in your inbox

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.