The World Cup of Moot Courts is Here: Jessup 2020 Registrations Open

The Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition, also known as the Jessup Moot, is the oldest and largest international moot competition in the world, attracting participants from almost 700 law schools in more than 90 countries.  It is named after Philip Jessup, who once served on the ICJ, and is organised by the International Law Students Association.

The International Law Students Association is the home of the Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition. As a non-profit association of students and lawyers who are dedicated to the promotion of international law, ILSA provides students with opportunities to study, research, and network in the international legal arena.

The organization’s activities include academic conferences, publications, the global coordination of student organizations, and the administration of the Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition.

The competition follows an elaborate format where rounds are held in each country and sub-divided into regions. The regional winners fight it out in the national rounds and finally, the national winners get to be a part of the real Jessup experience in the United States of America.

Interestingly, the applications are opened not only for participants but also for judges. Lawyers, Professors, Judges and other legal personnel apply for the judging positions. It helps your application if you are a Jessup Alumni.

The scale on which it is conducted and the luminaries which are involved with this competition coupled with the rich history makes this competition worthy of its name The World Cup of Moots.

The Jessup Competition is not just about international law. Being the largest moot court competition of the world, it is a life-changing experience for law students from all over the globe.

All Rise is a documentary produced by the ILSA and White&Case which follows passionate students who are intent on making a change in the world, and themselves, as they rely on their strength and determination to persevere during one of the world’s most rigorous competitions, the Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition.

Watch the trailer of the documentary here.

Out of the seven people who are mainly covered in the movie is our very own Abhinav Sekhri from National Law School of India University. The trailer itself highlights and focuses on Indian representation.

This is one of the most special things about Jessup, it is not just a competition, it is an experience. When the top most mooters of the world, the brightest legal minds of the future come together in one place to battle, talk, dine and wine together, that extraordinary experience is altogether known as Jessup.

Our NLSIU is the only Indian University to every win (twice btw *_*) this competition. The first time being in the year 1999 when they were in the finals against a South African team from the University of Pretoria. In 2013, NLSIU was up against a Singaporean team from Singapore Management University.

Read the post on Lawctopus about India’s victory from 2013.
Watch the Jessup 2013 final round promo here.

In 2018, we came close to winning it again with our champs from NLSIU in the finals competing against an Australian team from University of Queensland but we could not continue the winning streak in the finals.

There have been other Universities from India like NALSAR which have also performed well and reached the International rounds at Washington DC.

The Jessup Alumni are some of the most accomplished legal personnel of the world. Here is a list of some notable people who have been part of the Jessup experience.

  • Hilary Charlesworth (1980, University of Melbourne) – Professor of international law and former ad hoc judge of the International Court of Justice in the Whaling in the Antarctic Case (Australia v. Japan)
  • Steven Chong (1982, National University of Singapore) – Senior Counsel, Attorney-General of Singapore, and Judge of Appeal of Supreme Court of Singapore
  • Peta Credlin (1995, University of Melbourne) – Chief of Staff to former Australian Prime Minister Tony Abbott
  • Francisco Domenech (2002, University of Puerto Rico) – Director of the Office of Legislative Services of Puerto Rico
  • James Edelman (1996, University of Western Australia) – Justice of the High Court of Australia
  • Sundaresh Menon (1986, National University of Singapore) – Senior Counsel, Attorney-General of Singapore, and Chief Justice of Singapore
  • Bruce Poole, (1984, Washington and Lee) – Chairman of the Maryland Democratic Party
  • Judith Prakash (1974, National University of Singapore) – Judge of Appeal of Supreme Court of Singapore
  • V.K. Rajah (1982, National University of Singapore) – Senior Counsel, Judge of Appeal of Supreme Court of Singapore, and Attorney-General of Singapore
  • Indranee Rajah (1986, National University of Singapore) – Senior Counsel and Minister in Prime Minister’s Office of Singapore
  • Marco Rubio (1995, University of Miami Law School) – US junior Senator from Florida and 2016 US presidential candidate
  • K. Shanmugam (1984, National University of Singapore) – Senior Counsel and Minister for Law and Home Affairs, Singapore
  • Davinder Singh (1982, National University of Singapore) – Senior Counsel and former CEO of Drew & Napier
  • Lucien Wong (1977, National University of Singapore) – Attorney-General of Singapore
  • Woo Bih Li (1977, National University of Singapore) – Senior Counsel and High Court Judge of Supreme Court of Singapore

We hope that our law colleges perform well in the upcoming Jessup 2020 for which the registrations have started.

If you have any questions about the Jessup Competition or need assistance with registration, please email [email protected] or contact the ILSA Executive Office at +1 202-729-2470.
Register your team here.

Get Lawctopus in Your Email.

Join 58,000+ young lawyers!

One Comment

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.