CCI-NUJS National Moot Court Competition 2020 [Feb 21-23, Kolkata]: Register by Dec 27

About the Organisation

The West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences was established under the WBNUJS Act, 1999 (West Bengal Act IX of 1999) adopted by the West Bengal Legislature in July, 1999. The University was notified under Clause (f) of Section 2 of the UGC Act, 1956 in August 2004 and has been granted permanent affiliation by the Bar Council of India in July 2005.

The Competition Commission of India (CCI) is a statutory body of the Government of India which was established on October 14, 2003 and is responsible for enforcement of The Competition Act, 2002.

About the Moot

Competition Law is an upcoming area of law which seeks to promote fair and just trade practices. It regulates competition in the market by maintaining a check on anti-competitive conduct and ensures that market players refrain from the same.

Modern competition law has evolved on a national level with the promotion and maintenance of fair-trade practices in markets, within the domestic boundaries of a nation-state.

Law schools play an important role in inculcating and encouraging the growth of competition law, by organizing debates, panel discussions, moot court competitions and encouraging research and legal writing pertaining to this subject. In furtherance of the same, the Society for International Trade and Competition Law (SITC) of NUJS in collaboration with the Competition Commission of India has decided to organize the 2nd CCI-NUJS National Moot Court Competition 2020 from 21st February to 23rd February 2020 at NUJS, Kolkata.


All students enrolled and pursuing a 3-year LLB programme or a 5-year integrated LLB programme shall be eligible to participate in the CCI-NUJS National Moot Court Competition 2020. However, only one team per university/institution shall be eligible to participate.

Team Composition

The teams will comprise of 2 Speakers & 1 Researcher. In the case of a two-member team, both must be speakers.


Please note that only 10 more slots are left for participation in the moot on a first come first serve basis.

Those interested in participating for the moot must send a mail to sitc[at] (Subject: Confirmation of participation-University name). Any further queries must be mentioned in the body of the same mail. Final registration link and payment details shall be sent subsequent to receiving the aforementioned mail.

The last date for registration shall be 11:59 PM, December 27th, 2019.


  • Champion Team: Rs. 45,000 and a trophy
  • Runners Up Team: Rs. 30,000 and a trophy
  • Best Memorial: Rs. 15,000 and a trophy
  • Best Speaker: Rs. 10,000 and a trophy

Contact Information

Queries must be sent to sitc[at]

For the Moot Rules, click here.

For the Moot Proposition, click here.

Disclaimer: We try to ensure that the information we post on Lawctopus is accurate. However, despite our best efforts, some of the content may contain errors. You can trust us, but please conduct your own checks too.

Get Lawctopus in Your Email.

Join 58,000+ young lawyers!

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.