7th RGNUL Parliamentary Debate Competition, Agahi 2017 [Oct 6-8, Patiala]: Prizes Worth Rs. 62,000: Register by August 31

Dates: Agahi 2017

6th to 8th October, 2017

Style of Debate

Agahi 2017 will follow the ‘3-on-3’ Asian parliamentary style of debating.

Registration Deadline

31st August, 2017


a. Each debating match will consist of two teams; one to propose the motion and one to oppose it. The team proposing may be known as ‘The Proposition’, ‘The Affirmative’ or ‘The Government’.

The team opposing may be known as ‘The Opposition’ or ‘The Negative’. Teams will be designated as the Proposition or the Opposition for each round of the competition.

Join Lawctopus Law School, the law school you always wanted, online! Check courses.lawctopus.com

b. Each debate shall be adjudicated upon by a panel comprising of an odd number of adjudicators. One of these shall be designated as Chairperson.

In situations as per the discretion of the adjudication core (only in rounds before the ‘Break’), a debate may be adjudicated by a single experienced adjudicator.

c. Each debate shall be timed by a timekeeper. In the absence of a timekeeper, a member of the adjudication panel will time the speeches.

d. Teams will comprise the following members.


1. Prime Minister, or First Affirmative.

2. Deputy Prime Minister, or Second Affirmative.

3. Government Whip, or Third Affirmative.


1. Leader of the Opposition, or First Negative.

2. Deputy Leader of the Opposition, or Second Negative.

3. Opposition Whip, or Third Negative.

e. Debaters will speak in the following order:

i. Prime Minister

ii. Leader of Opposition

iii. Deputy Prime Minister

iv. Deputy Leader of Opposition

v. Government Whip

vi. Opposition Whip

vii. Opposition reply

viii. Government reply

f. Common minute will not be given within reply speeches.

g. Speakers not ‘holding the floor’ may not rise during a speech unless it is to offer a ‘Point of Information’ (see Part Five of this document). Speakers doing so, or considered to be heckling, barracking or whose behaviour is interfering with the acceptable course of a debate will be declared ‘out of order’ or will be ‘called to order’ by the Chairperson.

Agahi 2017: Parliamentary Debate Rules

Click HERE.


Best Team: Rs. 21,000

Second Best Team: Rs. 12,000

Best Adjudicator: Rs. 7000

Other prizes worth Rs. 22,000

Registration Fee

Independent Adjudicator: Rs. 1000/-

Team (with Adjudicator): Rs. 3600/-


Tanya Mander: agahi@rgnul.ac.in

Kanika Jamwal: 8872264897

Himanshu Rahtore: 9425984340

For official notification, click HERE.

Disclaimer: We try to ensure that the information we post on Lawctopus is accurate. However, despite our best efforts, some of the content may contain errors. You can trust us, but please conduct your own checks too.

Get Lawctopus in Your Email.

Join 58,000+ young lawyers!

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.